Enter your keyword

COACHING CENTRE UNIVERSAL COACHING CENTRE Let's join hands together in bringing Your Name in Elite officers list. JOIN US MORE THAN A MEET NEW FRIENDS AND STUDY WITH EXPERTS JOIN US Nothing is better than having friends study together. Each student can learn from others through by teamwork building and playing interesting games. Following instruction of experts, you and friends will gain best scores.
Admission open for KAS - Batch starts from September 20thIAS prelims cum mains classes starts from 1st September

ULP Click here! Click here! Classroom Programme NRA-CET Test Series Click here ! Click here!


Frequently Asked Questions

Universal Coaching Centre has always been assisting and guiding students to their career goals. Are you facing any trouble or need a proper guidance for your preparations?

We are here to support you.

1. What is the full form of UPSC?

UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission.

2. What is UPSC?

UPSC is the central agency that recruits candidates for various services like Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), etc. 

3. What are civil service? How do you enter the Indian civil service?

Civil services are professions such as IAS, IPS, IFS, IRS etc that are directly related to public service and are widely considered to be in India.

4. What is IAS? How can you pass the IAS exam and become an IAS officer?

It is one of the prestigious services among the 24 services such as IPS, IFS etc. for which the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the Civil Service Examination (CSE) to select candidates.

5. What is the Indian Administrative Service (IAS)?

Who is selected in the Administrative Service of India is known in a variety of roles e.g.  as a collector, commissioner, head of public units, chief secretary, cabinet secretary, etc.

6. What is the salary of an IAS officer?

The salary of civil servants (salary = basic salary + DA + TA + HRA) increases with increasing experience. The base salary of the cabinet secretary is 2.50,000 rupees.

7. How to become an IAS officer?

It is popularly known as the IAS exam, officially the UPSC exam for the civil service. The UPSC CSE consists of 3 phases: preliminary, main and interview.

8. What educational qualifications is required to take the IAS exam?

Any degree (degree). It can be regular or distant. The candidate must have a degree from one of the universities designated by law of the central or state legislature in India or other institutions established by Act of Parliament or as a university under Section 3 of the Commission Act of University Scholarships, 1956 are registered or have an equivalent qualification.

9. What is the age limit and number of attempts to write the UPSC Civil Services Exam?

The minimum age for taking the IAS examination is 21 years, ie the candidate must be at least 21 years old on August 1st of the year in which the examination is taken. For example, if the candidate is appearing in the 2021 preliminary round, he / she must be over 21 by August 1, 2021.

  • Upper age limit for the general category: 32 years old. 
  • Upper age limit for OBC: 35 years.
  • Upper age limit for SC / ST: 37 years 
  • Upper age limit for disabled personnel of the defense service in operations during hostilities with a foreign country or in an area disturbed and consequently released: 35 years 
  • Upper age limit For former military personnel, including officers and ECO / SSCO who Have completed at least five years of military service: 37 years 
  • Upper age limit for blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons (general category): 42 years.


  • Upper age limit for the blind, deaf and orthopedic disabled (general category): 42 years 
  • Number of IAS examination attempts: General category: 6 attempts up to 32 years old.
  • Number of attempts for the IAS exam: OBC: 9 attempts up to the age of 35
  •  The number of attempts for the IAS exam: SC / ST: unlimited attempts up to the age of 37 
  • NB: Physically Handicapped /disabled candidates belonging to General category will get the benefit of 9 attempts till the age prescribed by UPSC – 42 years.

10. How are attempts for the Civil service examination calculated?

If you appear for any of the papers of civil service pre-exams, your attempt will be counted. If you fill up the UPSC application form but did not take the pre-exam, your attempt WILL NOT BE COUNTED.

11. What is the latest syllabus for the IAS and KAS exams?

Click here to read the “UPSC and KPSC SYLLABUS“.

12. Full form of KPSC?

KPSC stands for Karnataka Public Service Commission.

13. What is the KPSC?

The KPSC is the government agency that recruits candidates for various services in the Karnataka Administrative Service (KAS).

14. What is the age limit and the number of attempts to take the KPSC civil servant examination?

Applicants must be at least 21 years old as on the last date for submitting the application or a date specifically communicated by the KPSC. 


The maximum age of candidates cannot exceed 35 years for general merit candidates. However, the relaxation at the age limit for the KPSC Gazetted Probationers exam is as follows: 


Category Relaxation in criteria Maximum Age
GM No relaxation 35 years
SC 5 years 40 years
ST 5 years 40 years
Cat – 1 5 years 40 years
2A 3 years 38 years
2B 3 years 38 years
3A 3 years 38 years
3B 3 years 38 years
Ex-MP No of years in service
PH / Widow candidates 10 years 45 years

Number of attempts for the KPSC KAS examination 

  • For general merits in the official probationary period, a maximum of 5 attempts. 
  • For OBC candidates they are entitled to two additional attempts so that the total number of attempts 7 is allowed. 
  • An unlimited number of attempts for the KPSC KAS exam are allowed for SC / ST / Cat1 candidates as long as they meet the age limit criteria.

15. Which educational qualifications do you need for the KAS exam?

If you appear for one of the KAS preliminary examination, your attempt will be counted. If you have completed the KAS application form but did not take the preliminary examination, your attempt WILL NOT BE COUNTED.

16. Which educational qualifications do you need for the KAS exam?

The Academic Eligibility Rules for the Gazetted Probationers Exam are:

  • Rule 7 – Recruitment of Karnataka Gazetted Probationers (Appointment by Competitive Exam) Rules, 1997 
  •  Eighth Amendment, Rules, 2010


According to the Rules, candidates can only appear KPSC KAS official exam if they: 

  • have a bachelor’s degree from a state university in India 
  • OR have a master’s degree from an accredited university 
  •  or have an equivalent qualification

applicants Currently final year graduates are also eligible for the KPSC KAS Prelims exam, but must present a passed / completed certificate before they are admitted to the main exam.