IAS Prelims and Mains New Batch starts from September 20th 2018 & KAS prelims & Mains New batch starts from 27th September 2018 - For registration Contact: 9686664983/9845512052.

Balkrishna Doshi wins Pritzker prize, architecture’s top honour

Balkrishna Doshi wins Pritzker prize, architecture’s top honour


Indian architect Balkrishna Doshi, a pioneer of low-cost housing design, won the prestigious Pritzker Prize considered architecture’s Nobel equivalent.

Know about Balkrishna Doshi:

  • Balkrishna Vithaldas Doshi (born 26 August 1927) is an Indian architect.
  •  He is considered to be an important figure of South Asian architecture and noted for his contributions to the evolution of architectural discourse in India.
  •  His more noteworthy designs include the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore and the Aranya Low Cost Housing development in Indore which was awarded the Aga Khan Award for Architecture.
  •  In 2018, he became the first Indian architect to receive the Pritzker Architecture Prize
  • The 90-year-old Doshi—one of the last living architects to have apprenticed with the Franco-Swiss trailblazer Le Corbusier—distinguished his work by committing to sustainable architecture and inexpensive housing, bringing modernist design to an India rooted in traditionalism.
  • He is the 45th Pritzker laureate and the first from India.
  • “Balkrishna Doshi has always created an architecture that is serious, never flashy or a follower of trends

Know about Pritzker prize:

  • The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually "to honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture."
  • Founded in 1979 by Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy, the award is funded by the Pritzker family and sponsored by the Hyatt Foundation.
  • It is considered to be one of the world's  premier architectureprizes, and is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of architecture.